Belief

The only alternative to “belief” is believing ONLY what you see and can prove and no more. No one can really do that, and in any event, doing that leaves a lot of imagination and conjecture behind.

For example, belief in a non-physical soul. All you can really prove about human life is that a person is gestated, born, alive for a while, and dead – the component parts eventually getting disbursed. And that could very well be reality. So, we have materialist types who believe that consciousness is the product of physical processes and laws, located completely within the skull.

But there are indications that that is not true – that consciousness is external to the physical form. There is no real proof, but there are indications.

So – what are we to do? Ignore the indications? Ignore the logic that supports a human soul as opposed to a mechanical meat automaton? Choose to only believe was can be proved? Even Scientists do not do that.

Everyone believes in something, and not all beliefs or opinions are supported by undeniable evidence. They are, however, usually supported by core assumptions. Assumptions that may or may not be true, but if they are true, lead to a string of deductions that can lead anywhere.

My personal core assumption is that we are, each of us, spiritual in nature, and not composed of matter sprung from the Big Bang. I could very well be wrong. But if I am wrong, then we humans are nothing more than rocks floating in space that happened to combine a certain way, and which have no meaning at all, with no “free will” (since rocks have no will), and no “creativity” (since all that is or was was predetermined by the Big Bang).

This may be right, but it is way, way too bleak for me to accept as truth. And in any event, I have experiences and indications that tell me that it is not the truth.

Call me a “believer”, but be assured that I have come to my beliefs with a lot of thought and reasoning, knowing that I could very well be wrong.

3 thoughts on “Belief

  1. Chris Thompson

    “I could very well be wrong. But if I am wrong, then we humans are nothing more than rocks floating in space that happened to combine a certain way, and which have no meaning at all, with no “free will” (since rocks have no will), and no “creativity” (since all that is or was was predetermined by the Big Bang).”

    For me, this red herring is full of assumptions which you have no way of knowing. I really don’t know what you mean when you are referring to as free will.

    Reply
    1. Grasshopper Post author

      That’s part of my point. There are facts and there are conjectures. To me, free will is pretty basic: Will I have eggs or kippers for breakfast this morning? The deterministic point of view is that the choice was already made, and I have no say-so in it, despite the illusion that I do. As since the deterministic idea is that you can absolutely map subsequent events from knowing the exact state of the present, then it follows that all these changes were a given at the instant of the Big Bang. I acknowledge that I am making assumptions, as are the materialists. I see indications of outside influence, and therefore assume they exist. The materialist assumes all existence is contained within the scope of the physical. I think it is pretty obvious that people can and do make choices and are not completely governed by the exact state of the universe as it exists right now.

      Reply
  2. David Cooke

    As with the chicken and the egg, it’s not always clear whether our beliefs or our perceptions of the physical universe have priority. Science has entangled itself in verbal formulas about what conclusions can be drawn from physical evidence, formulas that few working scientists bother to study.

    But it might be that postulates take precedence over both. In my experience, when postulates change so do beliefs and also the perceived universe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

